top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Tang

Top 10 Ballet Variations

Updated: Jul 31, 2020


Here is a compiled list of my absolute favourite ballet variations from famous ballets! Be sure to check out the videos that go along with them as well as the original ballets live or by watching old videos!


1. Esmeralda (La Esmeralda, March 9th, 1844) This variation is derived from the ballet, La Esmeralda, with inspiration from the Notre Dame of Paris! It dates back all the way to 1844 and has had many classic pas de deux's used to this day! This variation is used in many competitions such as the Youth American Grand Prix and the Prix de Lausanne and so much more! One of my favourite ballet dancers who performed this variation is done by Miko Fogarty (at age 16), who can also be seen in the documentary, First Position, which was one of my recommendations in one of my previous articles! One of my favourite parts of the variation are the multiple pirouettes and whenever Miko uses the tambourine!


Here's the link to the Esmeralda Variation performed by Miko Fogarty:



2. Sugar Plum Fairy (The Nutcracker, December 18th, 1892) This variation is from the famous Christmas ballet, The Nutcracker! This variation is one of the most well known and famous of them all! In fact, the Nutcracker sells 40% of the overall ticket sales for all ballet performances. It is not only a Christmas classic but also a favourite among many families worldwide! In fact, I love watching this classic ballet every year and this year I was fortunate enough to see Paloma Herrara perform the Sugar Plum Fairy Variation live! My favourite version of this variation is performed by the beautiful and amazing Russian principal dancer at the Bolshoi Ballet!


Here's the link to the Sugar Plum Fairy Variation performed by Nina Kaptsova:



3. Coppelia (Coppelia, May 27th, 1850) This variation is from the ballet, Coppelia, and is meant to be a comedic ballet. It also premiered its first performance at the Theatre Imperial l'Opera! It is still one of the few ballets out there today that has been made a comedy as well as a classic story! My favourite version of this variation is performed by Gaya Bommer (at age 12) from the documentary, First Position, at the YAGP!


Here's the link to the Coppelia Variation performed by Gaya Bommer:



4. Kitri (Don Quixote, December 26th, 1869) This variation is from a very famous ballet, based on a novel by Miguel de Cervantes called, Don Quixote de la Mancha. It was first performed at the Ballet of the Imperial Bolshoi theatre in Russia, Moscow. I remember seeing this ballet for the first time and I fell in love with the setting and excitement that this ballet creates especially live in theatre! My favourite ver

sion of this variation is performed by once again, Miko Fogarty (at age 12)!


Here's the link to the Kitri Variation performed by Miko Fogarty:



5. Peasant Pas (Giselle, June 28, 1841) This variation is from the ballet, Giselle, and became very popular as soon as it premiered, and quickly was shown in theatres in the United States, Europe, and Russia. This ballet was originally performed at the Ballet du Theatre de l'Academie Royale de Musique in Paris. It is considered a romantic ballet, and my favourite version of the peasant variation is performed by Miko Fogarty! My favourite part is from 1:57 to 2:12 on the youtube video below!


Here's the link to the Peasant Pas Variation performed by Miko Fogarty:



6. Odile Variation (Swan Lake, March 4th 1877) This variation is definitely a different perspective than the rest of the variations as it is from the "villain" of the ballet's point of view, Odile. I absolutely adore this variation though, as it requires a lot of maturity that many young dancers are unable to convey into their interpretation of this variation. I have seen this ballet live twice once by the New York Ballet and once by the National Ballet of China, and out of the two my favourite was by the New York Ballet. However, it would be such a treat to be able to see this performed by Svetlana Zakharova as she has such grace, pose, and maturity for this role that makes it exceptional! Svetlana Zakharova is a prima ballerina for both the Bolshoi Ballet and the La Scala Theatre Ballet, because she is that amazing! Check out her version of the variation below!

Here's the link to the Odile Variation performed by Svetlana Zakharova:

7. Cupid (Don Quixote, December 26th, 1869) This variation is very fresh and cute, as well as being very spring like! It is also derived from the same ballet as the Kitri Variation, proving that Don Quixote is an amazing ballet! My favourite version is performed by Evgenia Obraztsova, as she brings so much excitement and joy to this dance, it's hard not to watch! She is also a Russian prima ballerina with both the Bolshoi Ballet and the Marinsky Ballet, proving her outstanding performance to just about everyone!


Here's the link to the Cupid Variation performed by Evgenia Obraztsova:



8. Paquita 4 (Paquita, April 1st, 1846) This is the fourth variation from the ballet Paquita and I absolutely adore it! I recently discovered this variation while looking at ballet variations and it is becoming a quick favourite. I also noticed that the music is very similar to what is used in the Harry Potter movies, which I suppose is another dancer trait (hahaha) and it also made me interested as well. This version performed by Larissa Lezhnina is absolutely stunning! Quickly after looking on the web I found that this was my favourite version of this variation! Larissa Lezhnina is a principal dancer with the Dutch National Ballet and also used to attend the Vaganova Ballet Academy, as well as being a dancer in the Kirov Ballet, no wonder she is amazing! Check out the link below to watch this amazing variation and let me know if you hear the Harry Potter music in it too!


Here's the link to the Fourth Paquita Variation performed by Larissa Lezhnina:



9. Paquita 7 (Paquita, April 1st, 1846) This is the seventh variation from the ballet Paquita and this is my second all time favourite variation from this ballet. There is an endless number of variations from this amazing ballet be sure to check out all of them, I guarantee you that all of them are different! I was surprised too! The reason why I loved Miko Fogarty's version of this variation is that she gives this variation a soft and delicate side to the dance that a lot of the other dancers forgot to do even some of the professionals in my opinion. Whereas most dancers gave an outstanding performance in confidence and strength the delicate side of ballet is my favourite and is the finishing touches that make Miko's performance that much better!


Here's the link to the Seventh Paquita Variation performed by Miko Fogarty:



10. Talisman (The Talisman, February 6th, 1889) This variation from the Talisman is one of my favourites because of the delicate music that easily plays off of the dancer performing it. It is also one of the hardest in my opinion to make it look easy and effortless at the same time! My favourite version of this variation is performed by Tatiana Terekhova! She helps to bring a light to this dance that a lot of other dancers missed when interpreting this beautiful variation! She was also a ballerina with the Marinsky Ballet! Now go check it out and tell me what you think!


Here's the link to the Talisman Variation performed by Tatiana Terekhova:



I hope that you enjoyed this compiled list of my favourite ballet variations and if you have any other variations from ballets that you think that I missed or should check out, please feel free to email me, and I'll be glad to learn about other ballets as well!


Lauren :)

47 views0 comments
bottom of page