top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Tang

Team Canada Tap Showcase!

Updated: Jul 30, 2020


Recently, I saw the Team Canada Tap Showcase and I was happily surprised. :) Initially, I wasn't quite sure what the showcase was about, and thought it was a pure tap dance show, which would have been interesting, but I wasn't quite sure, as to how the showcase could be 3 hours long. Another thing that I should mention was the location, as it was held at the Abbotsford Arts Centre, which was a bit hard to find, but once I got there, the theatre became the perfect place to hold the showcase. There were also multiple studios besides the Team Canada Junior & Senior Tappers including: Project Dance Chilliwack, Abbotsford Dance Centre, Can Dance, Encore Dance Academy, Studio One Dance Center, Street Kings Academy of Dance, Lisa's School of Dance, Freestyle Dance, Dance Xpressions, Crucible Dance Ministry, Caulfield School of Dance, and Creative Edge School of Arts. Many of these dances were a variety of both styles, ages, and studios.


The overall performance was from 6-8pm with a 15min intermission. There were also a 50/50 draw, DVD's of the performance for sale, flowers, and more. Additionally, I thought that this performance was an excellent way to fundraise for the Junior and Senior Tap Dancers to compete at the World's Dance Competition in Germany for 2016. After watching the performance, I was very much assured that Canada has a great team of dancers on their hands to successfully compete in the competition. It was especially amazing to me, at how much dedication they all had to participate, as they all had to audition in the summer, and then practice every other weekend from July until the competition. In particular, there were some dancers from Edmonton and Victoria. I was also very impressed with the routines choreographed by Miss Lisa Dew from Lisa's School of Dance, and my favourite routines were "Swing Set" for Team Canada Junior Large Group and "The Rockettes" for Team Canada Senior Large Group. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the performance and say "Merde" to the Team Canada Tap Dancers in Germany at the World's Dance Competition! :)


Make sure to check out the photos below!



























2 views0 comments
bottom of page