top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Tang

TurnBoard Review!

Updated: Jul 30, 2020


Have you ever seen on Instagram Turnboards being used by all of your favourite dancers? Like Ashi Ross, Larisa Magda, Danielle Esposito, Maddie Ziegler etc. I sure have, and one of the number one things you're probably wondering is... does it actually work? Well, to help you figure out if the Turnboard is for you, I bought one a few months ago, and waited to make sure I had enough information before writing a review on it! Okay, so after reading all of the blogs online and checking out the reviews on the product on Ebay.com, Amazon.ca, etc., I finally decided to buy one! When you go to the website there will be a few options like the Official Turnboard and The Ashi Ross Gold Turnboard. The one I picked was the pink version of the Official Turnboard. I believe the Official Turnboard now comes in colours, Violet Glitz, Pink, and Blue. There are also combo packs of multiple turnboards, however, I would recommend trying it out first before you buy multiple packs. Here are some tips:


1) In order to get the full use out of the Turnboard properly, I would recommend that you have some previous experience with pirouettes, with at least a single or double. Mainly because, if you use too much power on your turns then it can cause you to come off balance and fall over. However, if you have control and balance, along with proper technique, this will help out greatly. Since the Turnboard is mainly used for improving the amount of turns and improving them overall, while they don't need to be perfect or multiple, previous experience helps out greatly, as some of the previous complaints online had to do with it being dangerous.


2) Additionally, I would practice turning slow at first and then as you become stronger and more confident then you can add more power to your turns.


3) Also, I would recommend finding an open space in the beginning just in case you do end up traveling a bit.


4) As for the floor surface, I would recommend practising on eihter marley or wood floor for the best results.


5) Also, make sure to check out the videos on their Instagram account for more information on what you can do with your Turnboard. Many dancers like to use them to practice turn combos as well, such as leg spins and a la seconde turns.


Conclusion:


Does it work? Yes, it does and my turns have improved greatly.


Why does it work? Mainly because it causes you to want to practice turns more often, as it is so much fun, and practice makes improvement :)


What are your results? I went from doing doubles to triples, quadruples, and quintuplets in a matter of a few weeks. Of course, it all depends on how often you use the Turnboard.


Should I ask my teacher first? Depending on your background in dance it is generally a good idea to always check in with your teacher. As he/she may have some great advice for you about the product.


How much does it cost? $29.95 for the Original and $39.95 for the Ashi Ross Gold Turnboard


Is it worth it? Depends on what your looking for. If you're looking for a device that will improve your turns and take it to the next level, then yes it's worth it. If you want a quick fix without practice, then no, as everything does take practice, however, it may be easier for some more than others.


Should I have someone spot me? In the beginning, I would highly recommend this just to make sure you don't get hurt, and if you do that you have someone to attend to you.


Will this cause my turns to get worse? Depends, as some people in previous forums mentioned that their turns became worse due to them not getting used to being on releve. However, once you become very advanced at turning, I have seen some dancers who turn on releve, although this does require a lot of practice and experience, and confidence in your turns.


What is the main purpose of the Turnboard? To improve your turns, and the way this works is by helping you build muscle memory in practicing multiple turns. By getting used to doing multiple turns, your body will automatically want to turn more.


Would I recommend this product to other dancers? This generally depends on the dancer, but in short, Yes.



Overall, I hope that you enjoyed my review and below I have added the link to the website, other dancer's reviews, and a Turnboard video. Enjoy!


Here is the link to the website: balletisfun.com



Here is the link of the YouTube video of the Interview with Ashi Ross:


Here is a video of the YouTube channel, "Mia Diaz" review of the Turnboard:

Here is a compilation of the different turns you can do on the Turnboard:

Here is a video of the YouTube channel, "FIT4DANCERS" review of the Turnboard:

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page