top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Tang

Top 8 Ballets!

Updated: Jul 31, 2020


Happy American Thanksgiving! Funny, how so much time has passed since my last article that it's now American Thanksgiving, when in my last article it was Canadian Thanksgiving :) Anyways, I thought that I'd make a new article with a compilation of my top 10 favourite ballets, seeing as how popular my "Top 10 Ballet Variations" article was. Also, because there are so many amazing ballets out there, I just thought I'd share some of my favourites with all of you who'd love to watch a new one, but don't know which one to watch next. Also, for bit of background information most of these ballets I recommend will be in the original classical ballet format unless otherwise specified, as the other interpretations, will vary from company to company, just thought I'd let you know. Oh also, the rankings of these ballets may vary as it may be hard for me to decide between some of them, and none of these are ranked based on my personal preference :) Enjoy :)


P.S. Oh also, for other news, I found another great ballet option for dancers who want to continue dancing after finishing high school. It's run at the Scotiabank Dance Centre, and they're "Ballet Classes with Linda Arkelain". I'll add the link below, I haven't tried her classes yet, but when I do, I'll let you know what I think :)

Here's the link to the Public Facebook Group: facebook.com

1. The Nutcracker


One of my favourite things about the Nutcracker is how it's based on a Christmas theme and has become a tradition in my household. My favourite parts of the ballet include the Sugar Plum Fairy, Snowflakes dance, Arabian dancers, and the Snow Queen. Over the years, I've watched multiple versions and adaptations of the Nutcracker from Goh Ballet, Royal City Ballet, etc. There are also so many movies about the Nutcracker including one with Misty Copeland called "The Nutcracker and the Four Realms" coming to theatres in 2018 and the other movie coming out this year called "A Nutcracker Christmas" starring Sophia Lucia and Sascha Radetsky from Centre Stage. Here I've added the San Francisco Ballet's Nutcracker Trailer to give you an overview of what the Nutcracker is all about :)

2. Swan Lake


Over the years, one of my all time favourite ballets has always been Swan Lake, probably initially because it was one of the most well-known and also because when I was younger I used to watch those Barbie Princess movies and Swan Lake was one of their adaptations. I've seen multiple versions of this ballet from the New York City Ballet, National Ballet of China, and more. My favourite one was the New York City Ballet, I remember watching and being so tired because I had just arrived in New York from Vancouver that day, and with the time change I would've normally been asleep, but it was all worth it, and I still remember the famous fouettes and dying swan scene at the end. As for adaptations in the movie there's always the classic Black Swan movie (2010) with Natalie Portman but beware for younger audiences it may not be appropriate as it is rated 14A. Below I've added the Swan Lake Trailer from the English National Ballet for an overview of the ballet.

3. Don Quixote


One of my all-time favourite ballets has always been Don Quixote! I think the part of the ballet that has always made me have a special part of my life dedicated towards this ballet in particular are the two main variations that Kitri performs. I've seen this one performed live by the Cuban National Ballet, and it was honestly amazing, definitely recommend watching it. Some of my favourite dancers who have performed this variation include Misty Copeland and Miko Fogarty, be sure to check them out on YouTube, and I believe Miko's version is even depicted in the ballet documentary on Netflix, "First Position", if I'm not mistaken. Oh, also if you haven't seen that film before you should definitely check it out, it's amazing and is also one of my all time favourite films. Below I have attached the Don Quixote Trailer from the Royal Ballet.

4. Cinderella


Another ballet that I love is Cinderella, as the ballroom scene and costume changes make it all the more special. I haven't actually seen this ballet live but I hope to soon. Well, actually that's not completely accurate, as my dance school did perform this ballet when I was younger, but I don't remember much about it now. Also, it's very different performing in it versus watching. One of my favourite versions I've watched online is by Clarissa May, but I'm open to suggestion of other amazing artists performing this as well. I've also watched a portion of it from the TV show "Backstage", where the dancers perform a modern-day version of the ballet. Here's the San Francisco Ballet's interpretation of Wheeldon's Cinderella.

5. Coppelia


I've always loved how Coppelia is about a doll because it reminds me of a ballet version of Pinocchio. I've always wanted to watch this ballet live and I especially love the costumes. The main character, Coppelia, reminds me of the doll in the Nutcracker during the Christmas party. Especially the contrast in movement compared to traditional ballets like Swan Lake that emphasizes fluid and swan-like movements. Here's the video for the Coppelia Trailer by the English National Ballet.

6. Jewels


One of the main parts about the Jewels ballet that I love are the beautiful costumes and rainbow like effect that the diamonds, rubies, and emeralds show. It kind of reminds me of the ballet Seasons. I haven't seen this ballet live either, and I would love to see it especially by the New York City Ballet, as I read the autobiography by Jenifer Ringer called "Dancing Through It", which I strongly recommend, as it's amazing, and Jenifer Ringer talks about dancing in the Jewels ballet in particular. Here's the Bolshoi Ballet's Diamonds from Jewels trailer

7. Alice's Adventures in Wonderland


This ballet is very special because of the different dances and interpretations of the classic Lewis Caroll story. My favourite dance from this ballet is the caterpillar. As for movie adaptations, from my knowledge there aren't any ballet ones on DVD with a story like Swan Lake and The Nutcracker, but there are ones based on the novel such as the 2010 live-action version starring Johnny Depp and the original cartoon from Disney in 1951. Here's the Royal Ballet's interpretation of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland trailer.

8. The Sleeping Beauty


I love this ballet because of the differences between the movie and the ballet, as I love the fairies from the ballet. I haven't seen this version in person but I have seen versions online and danced in it with my dance school a few years ago. I also love the difference between the "villain" in the Disney cartoon or live action versus the ballet, as it involves more theatric in the ballet. Here's the link from the Royal Opera House's trailer of The Sleeping Beauty.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page