top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Tang

Merry Christmas!

Updated: Jul 30, 2020


Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, Happy Kwanza, Happy Holidays, and Happy New Year (well it's coming up soon!). I hope that you all are having a chance to relax and were fortunate enough to have watched the Nutcracker this year! It's definitely one of my favourite Christmas/Holiday traditions with my favourite part being the Sugar Plum Fairy's dance! Isn't it amazing? To spice things up a bit I decided to add some of my favourite holiday movies, with some of them being ballet/dance inspired that you can watch during your winter break! Along with some videos I found fit for the holidays :) I hope that you all enjoy them and I'll be back next month with some even better articles covering topics like dance autobiographies, master classes, and dance shows! Also, I have a review of the Goh Ballet's Nutcracker from last year a few posts back if you'd like to check it out :)


As an update, since the last time I posted I took a Master Class held by the Vancouver Ballet Society at the Dance Centre taught by the Artistic Director, Andre Lewis from the Royal Winnipeg Ballet, which was a lot of fun! Unfortunately, I didn't get a chance to take a picture with him, because as soon as I went to get my phone it was too late, oh well maybe next time :) I've also watched the movie "A Nutcracker Christmas" starring Sascha Radetsky and Sophia Lucia, which I absolutely loved! I'll add the trailer below. Also, on March 4th I'll be attending the Alonzo LINES King Ballet workshop at the Harbour Dance Centre, so feel free to say hi, and also check out the details under the "Classes" tab on this website and sign up soon, as there are limited spots :) There's also the Vancouver International Dance Festival coming soon and so many other events! If you have any other recommendations for upcoming dance events, dance movies, etc, feel free to let me know in an email or in the comments section down below :) Happy Holidays from Dance News BC and keep on dancing :)




1. "A Nutcracker Christmas" starring Sophia Lucia, Sascha Radetsky, and Amy Acker (2016). A definite must add to your Christmas movie list repertoire :)



2. Olympic gymnast Laurie Hernandez Learns a 'Nutcracker' Routine with the New York City Ballet from Teen Vogue.



3. Here's the trailer for the movie "Ballerina" starring Elle Fanning and Maddie Ziegler coming out for the holidays (2016).


4. Check out this video of the "English National Ballet's Pointe Shoes Christmas Tree" assembly. :)

5. Check out the "Anaheim Ballet Christmas Card" video.

6. Here's the Nutcracker's Waltz of the Snowflakes performed by the Royal Ballet :) Just in case you missed the chance to watch the Nutcracker this year!

7. And last but not least my favourite version of the Sugar Plum Fairy variation by Nina Kaptsova from the Bolshoi Ballet :) Happy Holidays!

2 views0 comments
bottom of page